The day that nearly turned ugly

I went into town to do put a cheque into my bank. How annoying. I used to have a local branch, two minutes walk from my house. Then it was closed, with no notice to customers and replaced with a Santander branch - this was six months ago. The Santander branch is now closing due to lack of custom. I want my bank back - it's really quite a pain to have to drive for fifteen minutes, park up, to spend two minutes in the bank and then come back.

So, I went for a coffee at SB's. Another annoyance - it turns out that the branch near work charges 65p more for a medium vanilla latte than the branch in warrington. I sat for half an hour, perusing my purchases from the bookshop and then left, as a security guard kept looking at me whilst I was attempting to take sneaky photos - I decided to stop and leave before he approached! This was the best of the bunch - deliberate slightly long exposure to try and capture movement rather than detail in the people.

Came home, had some lunch and then went to get James to take him to the dentist.

This is where it nearly got really ugly. She was really good with James, but almost immediately as he had got settled, she told him that he needed two teeth out - which I had guessed. At this point, she explained the procedure and the ways in which she could numb the site before proceding. James started to have a crisis - he was trying to be brave, but his breathing went into panic mode and the dentist looked really worried (she asked "Has he ever had a panic attack before?"). A bit of soothing from me, and negotiation with the dentist that he would have one taken out today and one next time (James did the negotiations!) and agreement that he would have the gum-numbing gel and not an injection and surprisingly, he laid back on the chair and let her get on with it.

There was no more fuss - a slight flinch when it came out, but nothing major. No tears, a numb and drooly mouth for 20 minutes and that was that. He has said that now he knows what it feels like, he isn't bothered about the next one (especially as the gum numb gel tastes like bubblegum).

All is well.

Thanks for all of the comments yesterday - we'd made up by bedtime, with hugs and "I love you"s. Thanks also for the honesty about the crapness of my photo - today's is not much better, but I am lacking inspiration or the desire to leave the house to look for something better, so this is as good as it gets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.