Oooooooooooooooooooh!

If I could write off whole days, today would be one of them.

Spent too long in work, realising that I was spending less time on my work and more time on other peoples.

Came home and then spent another 6 hours annotating coursework and filling in paperwork, for the sake of it, not because I want to, but because forms have to be filled in to prove that I am doing my job properly. If I spent less time filling in forms, I'd get more real work done (I know now that a number of my colleagues are going to spit their wine all over their monitors as they read that last bit, as I am the queen of generating pointless paperwork a lot of the time!).

In the midst of that 6 hours I also discovered that I have not got an interview for a job that I was quite interested in. Interestingly, with time to think about it, I find that I am not massively disappointed. I am a little, as it would have provided a challenge and would have impacted upon my time very positively as my travel would have been reduced. But equally, I had little niggling doubts, as the school is very close to home and is also the one that Jimbo is moving to in September.

I realised, after getting over the initial narkiness, that I am a little relieved. There is so much I still want to do at our school and I don't want to walk away from our kids, or our staff. The thought of leaving actually upsets me, which is ridiculously emotional, but my school is my second home and I have some wonderful people around me. Who now are absolutely and utterly stuck with me, as apparently, I am not good enough to get an interview. (OK, maybe I am a little cheesed off!!!)

The best bits of the day - fish and chips from t'chippy. Yum. Oh, and managing to get the camera set up to catch the Space Station coming over on another glorious fly by tonight.

In the overall scheme of things, stuff happens, clearly 'it' wasn't to be and I haven't lost anything by going through the application process. In fact, I have actually learned a bit and had some very frank conversations with people who I respect a lot.

I think I am actually more optimistic than I actually think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.