dark obsidian

By darkobsidian

Friends

Not really the best of shots but then at least for a change it's not a tree so I guess that must count for something!

I spent most of the afternoon with a friend visiting the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum - well in between occasional breaks for coffees and chats - and while we made our way around I took the occasional shot though none of them were really that good as I was more focussed on my friend and our conversation - which is really as it should be!

I've always found this exhibit a little strange but today it kind of struck me and it seemed like the perfect subject for a blip - perhaps because over the last few days I'm particularly aware of just how fortunate I am in regards to the number of truly wonderful friends I have in my life. Redundancy has been a real blessing because it has given me the time to catch up with them all and do fun things together that I didn't previously have and now I'm beginning to wonder how going back to work might mess that all up again. I love having time for music and books and reading and writing and friends and I'm not really sure I want to give that up - now if only I could make money doing those things......

Anyway lots to be very thankful for today; wonderful friends, delicious coffee, beautiful trees (i saw some outside the museum!), salvador dali, rembrant, titian, elvis, Kate Bush, Elvis Costello, Kate Rusby, Joy Division and Nick Drake on my ipod



'I think if I've learned anything about friendship, it's to hang in, stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you. Don't walk away, don't be distracted, don't be too busy or tired, don't take them for granted. Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together. Powerful stuff'


Jon Katz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.