Country File

By marypot

The figure by the falls

I'm glad the weather cheered up today as, for a time there, I was going to post a really bad still life of a leek and some daffies. Fortunately, the sun came out and I got out for a walk.

This waterfall, Holms Lynn, is one of my favourite places in the whole wide world. It is about 10 minutes' walk from our house. When we were kids we used to come down here and play a lot and as an adult it has become a place where I can go sit, gather my thoughts and have quiet, reflective time.

About three years ago, I went down there and saw something in the water. I got such a shock and it terrified me, til I realised it was just a sculpture (really was one this time - not just a tree like Griff!!!). It was meant to be a water nymph, with its arms reaching up into the falls. I hated it. It was hideous. In fact - sappy thing that I am - I burst into tears. It was like someone had commited sacrilege against nature in "my" personal sanctuary.

I didn't go back to Holms Lynn for some time after that. It was spoiled for me. Then we had a massive storm and we heard that the figure had been washed off its plinth in the water. I rejoiced! We went down to check it out and sure enough it was lying in pieces on the side of the falls.

Unfortunately, it was put back together again, but this time it was placed on the side of the falls on dry ground. The head and one of its arms were missing after the storm. The head has since been replaced by a large concrete block for some reason. Bizarre. The arm is still just a metal pole. It actually fits much better in its new position. I don't hate it so much now. In fact I rather like its new quirkiness, 'blockheed' and all. Odd how an opinion can shift so radically over time.

Happy St David's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.