Davids Photos

By davyatsea

Peoples Memorial

I cant believe its been nearly a week since I blipped. Clearly I've been working far too hard, which is something I'll have to remedy. Its also busy at home with two cheeky kids in two as well, which means the photography sometimes has to take a back burner.

We headed first to Clarence Field car boot sale, where I found a couple of cheap toys for Oliver. Normally, I can find a few bargains for myself, but today, it was mostly just old tat. Maybe I need to have another look another time?!

We then tried the Clarence Pub for a drink. However this hadn't opened yet, much to Megans disgust as she proceeded to howl the place down. Looking for somewhere to feed her, we found this wee gem in Old Portsmouth. At first impressions, this did not appear pram or child friendly, but once Emma was persuaded to sit down, we did enjoy a lovely cup of tea and the best cake ever.

We also took in a short memorial service outside for the sailors who lost their lives onboard HMS Sheffield 29 years ago in the Falklands conflict. I think even Oliver was moved by this as I've never known him so quiet.

We then headed to Southsea to get some bits for lunch before heading home. Megan wasn't impressed by being home and being kept awake, so I took her out for a walk. We headed over to the edge of Langstone Harbour where I spotted this. At first glance I wasn't sure of why it was here, but a closer look revealed its history.

This is an unnoficial memorial built by Willie Goldfinch, a former soldier. He built this as a memorial to soldiers who have been killed in Iraq and Afghanistan. I've tried to search for more information, but this seems to be sketchy. All I found was this article suggesting that the momument would be knocked down. Fortunately this has not happened, and the monument has been allowed to remain. If you drive down Eastern Road into Portsmouth,you can just see the flags which fly proudly above the monument. They were certainly flying well today.

Personally I think this guy has done himself proud - and has created a real personal memorial - long may it last!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.