Burthday Lightyear - to infinity and beyond...

I suppose there must come a time in every parent's life when the decision to do the RIGHT THING in birthday present terms comes to the fore.

There I was standing in the toyshop, practically DROOOOOOOOLING over this nifty play set when, out of the corner of my eye, I spied this Buzz Likeyou (yes, Arlo still calls him that) rocket tent.

Ooh the conversation I had with myself. I didn't want to buy the tent. I really did not want to buy that tent, but then Arlo's wee face popped into my head like one of those cartoon thought bubbles and I knew what I had to do.

One hideous play tent purchased later and I have to admit to feeling pretty good with my mothering skills and all that.

And so....to his birthday today. He woke up at an almost humane hour (7am - this is a long lie in our house) and after 90 whole minutes of opening the presents he couldn't open yesterday due to post party nick-knackeredness, we wandered through to the livingroom where the rocket was waiting for him. His wee face was a picture. He couldn't believe we'd bought him a rocket.

Awww. My boy thinks we bought him a rocket. How cool is that?!

A perfect day in the garden followed - mainly playing at 'the beach' (the sandpit he got from Nana & Grandad) with Woody (thanks Auntie Elspeth and Uncle Ian!) and Buzz, There was the odd stop off at the 'funny golf course' (the crazy golf set from my Mum), but otherwise it was hanging out in the rocket, eating ice lollies and chilling! He didn't even want to go to the park so he could max out on his rocket time!

All in all, an absolutely perfect family day and a really lovely birthday with my boy.

Satisfied sigh...repeat till fade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.