must try harder

By halfcj

What is it?

Been a really busy Bank holiday/Royal Wedding weekend, so apologies, had to backblip yesterday's entry! (poor Mrs Thatcher!).

First things first, I completely forgot my 'Can you see it' challenge for the last day of April, and therefore to reveal the March effort, which you see here is a lamp shade!. which congrats to Daff who got it straight away!

So anyway, I mad my way down my list of candidates realising I'd be a couple of days late, but still had to fulfill my obligation and shoot a 'Can you see what it is yet?'....

Just in cases, as a reminder, it's part of the Whatisit?? challenge, although my monthly offering started before the forum challenge.

So....as I say, looking down my list of potential candidates, one stood out a mile - and Daff having guessed so quickly last month after no-one guessed the month before - I had clearly eased off too far and wanted a good one. So, set it up and shot away to my hearts content. Got some fab shots. Sat down in the boys den with a cup of tea and decided to watch a movie before I settled to the serious stuff of writing my blip.

Mistake. I could feel the weight of the weekend weighing heavily on my eye lids....but ignored the warnings and soon, I was wondering through a field of rapeseed up a hill toward a church nestled in a small copse. One of the regular drivers of the 285 to Kingston checked my oyster card before waving me on my way, but as I passed him eyes now fixed on the path I needed to follow, he started tapping his finger nail on the little yellow coin tray. I turned back to explain that I had 'beeped' my oyster, so didn't need to pay, but still, he tapped away. Mesmerised by his finger tapping I eventually looked up to see no-one, and then back down to see nothing....but still, the now missing finger and coin tray still tapped away.

I spun in the spot looking to see who was tapping and as I looked, more intensely, so all that surrounded me started to disappear into blackness....and then started to turn to white as a an unpleasant grunt (which I can only assume was me!) woke me from what transpired to be slumber. Shame, I was looking forward to seeing inside the church!

Strange thing was, still that finger tapped away on that tray...or so it seemed. As I roused and gathered my senses, I realised the tapping was on the window of the den. But I couldn't see a soul as I peered out onto the darkness. Garden security light now full on to illuminate all and sundry, I crept into the garden to confront the ghost of owners past.

Eventually....today's blip if what I found, trying to make it's way toward the light but the window was in it's way. Just enough time to get to the office, grab the camera and shoot at the very moment it gave up on a bad idea, opened it's wings, engaging flight mode, and starling me as it bumped into my lens on it's way to pastures green. I was struck by volume generated by such small wings...what a buzz!

So, it became my 'Whatisit' challenge...with a difference....for this time, I don't know what it is and need a fellow blipper to tell me! I have never seen antennae like this before, like Spanish fans spread out before it perhaps feeling for wind instead of creating it? I guess it's some kind of beetle but pray it's not cockroach family. Hoping for help.

....but for now, I'm off up the wooden hill to see if I can't find that field of rapeseed again, only this time, hoping I won't see the bus driver!

PS - Best in large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.