Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Lucky

Tonight I feel very lucky. Lucky to still have the most special person to me in the world here with me safe and sound (ish!).

This morning I got the phone call I have been half expecting for years - a lady telling me her name and could I please sit down. And then she told me Mike had been knocked off his bike. The next few moments are a bit of a blur but I think I asked her about 20 times is he ok, is he ok ...

Luckily I was due to travel to work with a friend today and the moment I put the phone down she was at the door. I just flew out of the house and she drove me down there, where he was laying on the grass verge - looking a bit grey but conscious and coherent. Luckily a couple of nurses had been passing and they had made him comfy with coats and told him to lie still until the ambulance got there. He'd hit his head and couldn't move his shoulder so when the ambulance turned up they put a collar on him and got him on a back board and stretcher. I am just in awe of the ambulance crew who took control of the situation so calmly and responded so quickly. The words Thank you just seems like such inadequate words for the sentiment at a time like that.

We headed into Leicester Royal with the sirens blaring and Mike had a series of xray's before they confirmed that nothing was broken. I can't believe how lucky he is considering he was hit by a car doing at least 40mph we reckon and the impact of her wing mirror hitting him on the bum / hip was enough to rip her wing mirror clean off and also do this to his wheel. There is a big ding in his helmet - the paramedic thinks the helmet could have saved his life. I just thank God that he was wearing one and he is still here with me.

We think the lady who hit him was using her mobile phone - but that's up to the police to investigate. I just hope if she was that she has learnt her lesson. She was pretty distraught but it is hard to feel sympathy for her, particularly when you think what could have happened.

Still no news on the test results from the post mortem on the horse that was put down. I am beginning to feel a bit distrustful of the yard owner now since we don't seem to be getting any real information. Someone else down at the yard said that if the cultures were only taken on Monday morning then bacteria takes 48hrs to grow so we would not know anything until Wednesday morning - so why is the yard owner telling us we will know Monday night and then Tuesday night. I take his point that every day that goes past and none of the others are sick is good news but tonight I found out that there is one horse with colic, another one off it's feed with a suspected 'virus' that could be anything and another with dihorrea - all possible signs of salmonella.

After the day I have had I just want to close my eyes now and go to sleep and not think about it anymore!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.