Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

The First Rose of Summer...

...As opposed to The Last.

It's not even ours, it belongs to Mr and Mrs Next Door.

There's a song called 'The Last Rose of Summer'.

One day, perhaps feeling melancholy, I was walking around Lichfield Catherdral.
As I took a seat, I hadn't realised that Lesley Garrett was due to perform there in the evening. (She wasn't the kind of performer who would be on my radar really).
However, she was conducting an informal-like sound check. She sang 'The Last Rose of Summer'. She was utterly magnificent. And hardly anyone was taking notice.
I wept.

I'm still not feeling quite on my perch. Haven't been out of the garden today.
But better tomorrow! Experiencing the kind of bug you don't want to capture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.