Deja View

By dejaview

Operation Stack!


This is just a small part of the fiasco that is Operation Stack! I had beautiful scenes of Hythe which is a pretty town, I had seascapes and more lovely canal shots but this seemed to be most relevant. It took me 5 hours to get to Kent on Wednesday because Operation Stack was in place! The stretch of the M20 that took me 1 hour to travel along on Wednesday took me 3 minutes going in the opposite direction today!

This is not the first time, this is a regular occurence. Every time the French workers at the ports have a grievance they stop all ferries in or out, so all the lorries are stacked back on the motorway and it becomes a giant lorry park. The authorities that the French want to hurt aren't affected at all as far as I can see, but the poor lorry drivers and the people of Kent are put to HUGE inconvenience!

I wonder how long it will be until some of these drivers see home again? On the plus side coming away from Kent was a joy as there were no lorries on the motorway for miles and we did the return journey in record time!

Hope you all have a great weekend. it's good to be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.