Click goes the Shutter

By RomaWhaup

New family on island

I went up to the High Pond today for the first time for a few days and was delighted to see the family of Canada Geese both on the water and the path. They grazed for at least half an hour, with the parents alternately keeping a watchful eye for dangers, and only stopped when I got very close to them. It was lovely to see the rewards of their labours as they have been diligent parents taking it in turns to sit on their nest on an island.

I thought a lot about Molly and the sadness of the blip community today and these words came into my head.

No man is an island,
Entire of itself.
Each is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thine own
Or of thine friend's were.
Each man's death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee.

John Donne
Meditation 17
Devotions upon Emergent Occasions
1624

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.