must try harder

By halfcj

Outstanding in her field.

I know this is two days in a row. But the picture I took that was intended to be just a landscape because the skies were so amazing ended up having B standing in the middle of it not 2 minutes later, waiting for me to catch up while I faffed with my camera, shooting all directions, maybe even thinking of doing some kind of panorama, but by that time, it was filled with random people.

I gave it up for a bad job until I got home and saw this one. For it reminded me of an old friend of mine who would regularly quip the old Farmer Kelly joke, "...outstanding in his field", and this shot made me think of B.

A local District Nurse, loved by her patients and colleagues, reciprocated beyond the call of duty, mother, daughter, wife, lover (shut your eyes kids!), friend, confidante, godmother, sister, aunt, general all round 24 hours a day good egg and loved person. I don't just mean by me. I am constantly reminded that I am the lucky one, by all and sundry, everyone who has an opinion.

She has survived everything life has thrown at her physically and, mentally, she has survived me. That hasn't been easy. She deserves a deal more good fortune than has been afforded by life, or by me.

You could say, and I do, that she is pretty outstanding.

As usual, best large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.