Rio Puerco Valley from the west edge of the West M

I went to the most spectacular place in New Mexico and came back with 63 lousy pictures. This is the best of the sorry lot. I was so excited and came back with nothing that manages to even slightly convey the majesty and grandness of the vision. I remember coming over this same edge in the same place as a young archaeologist in 1972 at the age of 20 and being stunned by the incredible, beautiful view of true wilderness. It is just as stunning today, although the roads in have been horribly abused by off-roaders so that they are packed dirt eroded to several feet below the original land surface. But looking out there, it has been destroyed and some how I didn't manage to get a single shot that sung to me. Sigh...

I give thanks for the awesome raw beauty of New Mexico and that 39 years later I am still around to see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.