Amman. Again!

I'm not getting bored - hope you're not either. This is the view from the Citadel, (Jebel al-Qala'a) the highest hill in Amman, sitting 850m above sea level. It's another place of ruins, previously a fortress in the Bronze Age. It has more pillars that aren't as impressive as the ones in Jerash, but still good that they're still standing I guess! It was pretty hazy today (glad I got the sunbathing in yesterday) but the sun was still strong to require sunglasses. Hey - even the Birkies made an appearance!!

You can also see the World's tallest (free-standing) flagpole. It stands 127m at Raghadan Palace, so it's pretty much visible wherever you are in Amman. The tallest flag-pole is said to be on the North/South Korea border, but it's supported by cables...I suppose that's cheating!

And then I went to the King Abdallah Mosque. It's a blue-domed one that, to be honest, looks more attractive at night when it's lit up. It looked a bit shabby close-up. I didn't get inside, (I'd timed it wrong - prayer time) but it's the only mosque in Amman that's open to non-muslims. I wasn't waiting for an hour to go in - I had a rugby match to watch!!

So Wales have the Triple Crown (YAY!!!) - Just France to go! And Scotland have the Calcutta Cup. I must admit I didn't know where my loyalties lay on that game, so I sat on the fence. Expect the old man is having a wee dram to celebrate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.