Fisherking

By Fisherking

...Baby Love, my Baby Love.....

Blipworld meet Charlotte Florence, hereafter known as Charlie.
Born 15th May 2011 at 6.37 a.m.
Weight 7lb 6oz ........and one of the most gorgeous individuals I've ever seen.

The story of her arrival is a tale and a half.............but it's time to go out for a beer with the boys.......so I'll tell the story when I get back.

So here's the tale.
Chris and Young Helen came for tea last night. They left around 8 with YH looking a bit uncomfortable and twitchy. The Boss in her midwife mode said "First stages of labour...ages to go yet" I looked concernd,but she reminded me about the 28 hours for Chris. Went to bed around midnight as I had to be up early (5.30) for a fishing match.

1.20 the phone rang, out of bed, downstairs to find the Boss (who had stayed up late to watch a film) talking to Chris "Mum, it's real contactions, it's starting". More motherly advice "Tell her to take a couple of Paracetemol and try to get as much sleep as possible" I looked concerned, the Boss reassured me "Ages to go yet. You can go fishing and be back in plenty of time" Had a fag and went back to bed, eventually struggled to sleep.

2.30 the phone rang....back downstairs ..."Mum the waters have broken , we're off to hospital"...more advice "Long time to go yet, don't worry" We checked the visiting times at the hospital , 3-4 and 6.30-8. The Boss said, "OK , go fishing in the morning, but don't fish the whole match (10 until 3), come home about 1 and we'll go visit at 3, still a long way to go" Another fag, back to bed, really struggled to get back to sleep.

4.20 the phone rang...back downstairs..."Mum she's 7cm" ......."It's Ok Chris about 1cm an hour is normal, nothing much until about 9 0'clock".....To me, "Nothing's changed, we can't visit until 3, just do as we planned" Decided it wasn't worth trying to go to sleep again so had a coffee, loaded the car, watched the news and set off.

7.00a.m in McD's having breakfast....mobile rang...."Charlotte Florence born 6.37, 7lb 6oz, going to be called Charlie"....No, don't come home enjoy yoursself Grandad ...see you about 1.30"

Explained to the boys what had happened and that I wasn't fishing the whole match so wasn't putting a stake on my winning.

Match started and I caught a lovely bream, a cracking carp and a big Roach Mobile rang "Helen's parents are driving up from Devon, but they have to be back at work tomorrow so they are taking the 3 o'clock visiting....so you can finish the match....are you winning?"
....." Yes but I'm not in the pools so I won't pick up any winnings"....."Can't you join in now?".........."No. not after the match has started"

Cut a long story short, I ended up being second in the match , but getting no money, so Charlotte had cost me £20 and I hadn't even met her yet.

Still, there's always next week

You know the only thing wrong with being a Grandad? You have to sleep with a Grandma!

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Apologies for not commenting on blips very well tonight, but I'm dog tired, all that broken sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.