Click goes the Shutter

By RomaWhaup

Tudors and zebras

It's been cold, wet and fairly windy for most of today, but the sun is trying to break through the cloud as I type this. I much prefer 'natural' subjects for photos so thought I'd challenge myself to get a photo in Penicuik today. I was out this morning recce-ing a 30 minute health walk for this afternoon and noticed all sorts of possible subjects - but the photo that most appealed was of flowers!

Despite the weather, 12 hardy souls joined the walk and were rewarded by dry, if grey, conditions. They are a very jolly bunch of folk with a variety of health problems and an incredible range of stories!

On my way home I took this photo of the Navaar House Hotel - I used to wait for the bus to work just opposite it and was always grateful for its well kept grounds with mature trees as well as its attractive, rather ramshackled, appearance. I think I'm right in saying that it was built by a Penicuik man - James Ewart (1851-1933) who was a Professor of Natural History at the University of Edinburgh. Apparently he carried out breeding experiments on horses and zebras - perhaps that's why he lived in a Tudor style house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.