Stravaiger

By stravaig

Blackout

A shame really. These are only some of the windows on a really fine old multi-storey town house now used for commercial purposes. On this side of the building the windows are all blacked out - quite starkly in fact as though it is a deliberate design statement. I guess it serves a purpose but it denies both light in and a very fine view out. For these windows, its a broken place where their original intended purpose is swept away by commercial expediency.

I suppose that's what darkness is - the prevention of illumination on to or into something and denial of ability to see out - whether of the physical world or perhaps even of the soul.

Maybe it mirrors ourselves - areas where we conveniently or expediently black out light. Areas that we don't want to look at or let others see. Ironic really as behind me as I type this there is a beautiful sunset shining in the window. I should be out taking photographs of it. But I guess I'll just close the curtains and opt out for this day.

Hope you had a good day blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.