The way I see it.

By christinePears

Ragged Robin - No it's a Campion!

I have realised that every time I have commented on somebody's flower blip I have usually started by saying "This is one of my favourite flowers!" How many favourites are you allowed to have? I reckon as many as you want cause this is yet another of my favourite flowers!!

It is growing down by the river bank in the wild part of my garden beside the boundary fence. In December that part of the garden was flooded when the heavy snow we had been having for a few weeks all melted. The river turned into a raging torrent and it is surprising that some of my garden didn't disappear downstream with the standing waves that appeared! It amazes me to look at the growth down there now - you would never suspect that it had all been under a foot of water in mid-winter.

I'm very glad that the clump of Ragged Robin (what we called them in my childhood but it should have been campion!) survived the ordeal. I used to collect them as a child and it reminds me of happy days growing up in Carradale, Argyll. Another wet and miserable evening - am I ever going to finish planting my vegetables? Oh well I will just have to kick back and relax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.