Day by Day with Otago Lad

By otagolad

The Road Ahead

I went off to the gym today again, Im still battling with an Achilles injury that I got running from the earthquake in September. Every time I think its coming right I seem to have another setback and its driving me mad. I had all the intention of getting a blip after the session when Mrs O picked me up. I had some great ideas but as you all know ideas are no good if not followed up. After the gym I was in so much discomfort, in the best possible way, the last thing I wanted to do was blip so I made this image on the way home from Dunedin from the car.

It got me thinking...........

How did our ancestors manage when they would have had a similar sort of injury?
Are we getting soft and becoming so reliant on medical professionals and not just working through the pain?
Are we more prone to injury with the lifestyles that we lead today?
If I had been around during caveman times I wouldnt have survived with the injury I have, I would have had no possibility to hunt for food. I may have therefore been my families last meal.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.