Strange World

By strangeworld

Northport Beach

This week I took an amazing and crazy trip up to the end of the Wisconsin peninsula. Locally known as "Door County" it is a favorite summer vacation spot for many people. I've never been there but had an opportunity to meet with a customer located on the peninsula. It was about a 6 hour drive north from my home.

The peninsula starts just north of the city of Green Bay and heads north out into Lake Michigan. The shoreline is 298 miles (480km) around, of which I saw most of in one day. The east side faces Lake Michigan and is home to many lighthouses, rocky bluffs, and big waves. The west side is the bay area which has many harbors and beaches. Off the farthest northern point is Washington Island which can only be accessed by ferry. The population of the entire area is less than 30,000 people. Tourist season doesnt begin for a few more weeks and there were very few people around.

Yes, I drove and visited every single harbor, every bay, and beach along the entire peninsula. Traveling alone, it took about 12 hours to cover the whole area with my camera. In one of the forest preserve parks I climbed up an observation tower and was so excited to see bald eagles sitting in a tree, and several flying around. Such majestic birds in a natural habitat!

It was difficult to chose an image to represent this trip...I have so many! This image was taken at the very tip of the peninsula at the ferry landing late in the afternoon. The ferry was not there and I was totally alone...not a soul for miles and miles. That was an experience.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.