Frontier

By Frontier

I Wish that Time Would Stand Still

London Electricity - Just One Second (Apex Remix)

Back when I was 16 I got Roni Size's New Forms and Goldie's Timeless. It was a big thing for me and the concept of Drum'n'Bass just suited my perspective with music. It was difficult to find people back then who also liked drum'n'bass and whenever I mentioned it, along with other artists from different genres including Daft Punk, I would be met by stares and that, "pfft, what are you on about?" look.

Although others experienced heavier periods of alienation this to me was difficult to bear to a degree. I got a taste for something that I couldn't get enough of. I also loved (and still do), music from England. The list goes on, but I just felt that I couldn't connect back then. I fulfilled a dream of living in England to experience the music first hand and it was great. I felt that I could just BE and enjoy what I liked and share it with people.

Now that I'm in Japan it's a dream come true. Even more so when all your friends go out on weekends to drum'n'bass nights and get buckwild. Even better when a mate spins the tunes (in this case I'm lucky to have two that do). It was a bloody joy and quite unbelievable that some years later I would be here doing this.

I was bathed in a momentary sadness, I knew this wouldn't last forever and things have to move on. I had a superb time and went ape to the music, the energy pempt up from years of constraint. That and I had a LOT to drink so I was pretty emotional. :)

Cheers for the awesome tunes, especially London Elektricity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.