ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

It's all happening

There was a lot going down today!

The finals of the Ratho EYS ran from early in the morning. I reckon this must be about 0920 this morning, already well through the Youth B category final. Jimmy is belaying carefully, whilst Audrey looks on to Judge and the route-setters watch from a seated position further back. I'm sorry, but I'm not too sure who's climbing!

Unlike many, I didn't mind the early start. It meant I could get a few shots of the action, before I needed to head off to the Hairy Haggis relay- where I was running leg 3. Within the 53 minutes (by my watch) that I was running, and over the course of the 8.8 miles (by my measurement), we experienced sun, wind, and rain in equal measure. Proper British weather! I was "we" as the course was "over-run" by runners. As I was fresh, and many others had been running for a half-marathon distance already, that caused it's own problems, me dodging between people running slow...

I was keen to get back to Ratho in time to see the prize-giving presentations, so was resolute that I'd run fast! I did indeed get back in time, but at the expense of my mobility - legs a bit seized.

That'll learn me not to train properly. And not to warm down. And not to stretch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.