Appreciation

By Appreciation

Passing the Baton

Today I pulled mum together, bundled her up and packed her off.

She is going on holiday tomorrow - her first ever holiday without my dad. She so desperately needs the break, it will be good for her, make her stronger, more able. She is not entirely alone, my sister is with her. She will be making the decisions, making sure things run smoothly, being jolly and cheerful, trying to quell my mother's feelings of guilt.

I will be doing what I do best just now. I'll be hand holding, comforting and re-assuring. That and an enormous pile of laundry and jelly baby feeding I reckon.

So as I pass the 'baton' to my sister. I wish her luck, strength and the patience to deal with all that is coming her way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.