Alison in Cambodia

By alisoncambodia

Coffee

Since being here I have developed an unhealthy addiction to the coffee. I absolutely love it!!A small amount of coffee is grown in Cambodia and the taste is delicious. It has very dark,strong,bitter chocolatey taste and is served either hot or iced, with or without milk.The milk is the very thick sweetened condensed milk and goes perfectly with the coffee.The picture here is taken in the market and is my favourite coffee outlet. There is a complex ritual to making each glass(or plastic bag if you want to take away)The water is boiling in a large metal pot over a coal fire. The coffee grounds are put in a long muslin net which is then put into the brown earthenware pot and the water is added. The coffee is then poured from the pot into the glass which has been scalded clean with some of the boiling water. If you're not quick the barista(!) will then add a large scoop of sugar which is too much even for my sweet tooth. Although not actively recommended by weight watchers,slimmers world or any dentist I know any day without a glass of this coffee is a day too many as far as I'm concerned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.