Ariane Photography

By arianephtgphy

Hedgehog

Last night we were delighted to find a hedgehog roaming our backyard. He was very active and hardly took notice of us. When he was still there this morning I became worried, I noticed some things that in my enthusiasm I hadn't the night before. First of all it was odd he was out in daylight, but he also had a blank gray eye and he kept walking in circles - sometimes big circles, sometimes like a dog chasing their tail. So I caught him (just after he had dug up something out of the dirt and eaten it - which I was very happy to find he was still able to do), with heavy gloves of course (my mom blipped the photo she took of us) and my mom drove him to a hedgehog shelter.
The woman there examined him and found out he was male, 3-5 years old, too skinny, had a lot of flees, bad teeth and glaucoma in his eye. So I am very happy my mom took him there so he can get better! We're allowed to name him (Schoffie - which means something like rascal) and keep in touch on how he is doing.

I took this photo when he had just met my dog - who avoided altogether him after sniffing a little. The sniffing however was enough make him curl up to a semi-ball. I realize now that he looks a little sad in the picture, but he wasn't at all. He was actually very active and when not running in circles confusedly, he was sniffing around for food and digging in the ground for insects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.