The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Butterfly 8: Small Copper

Incredibly it's been exactly a month since my last butterfly blip. Today, the wind dropped somewhat and the sun came out, so we decided to do a walk which included Carr House Meadows, managed by the local Wildlife Trust. The recent rain had brought on the flowers and the grass was high. I had hoped to find the meadow alive with butterflies, but I was over-optimistic, and we saw only a few green-veined and large whites. As we dropped down to More Hall Reservoir, we saw this solitary and rather faded Small Copper by the path. Birds en route included a whitethroat, linnets, swifts, swallows, house martins, a jay, lots of goldfinches, heard and possibly seen - chiffchaffs, and my first treecreeper in ages. Lots of the summer migrants still eluding me. Hoping that warmer and less windy weather will provide more opportunities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.