A is for .....

..... Amanda! I was going to reveal my name on my 356th but forgot, so I'll introduce myself properly now, I think we know each other well enough!

A quick return visit to Ballydehob as it is a wealth of blippable material. There are many old shop fronts, most of them empty but many still have their original lettering - even the new shops have interesting lettering as is the Irish custom. I love this example though - the shop is empty and fly blown but the lettering is faded yet handsome. This is one of the best preserved letters and the whole thing say Thrift Market, As yesterday, everywhere was deserted yet there must be a dozen pubs and half a dozen eateries in one main street and a little curvy road off.

Interesting things about Ballydehob:
it has an annual jazz festival
it has an annual traditional music festival
it is the home of the Irish Whip - a boxer, there is a very funny statue of him in what looks like his underpants
it has a 12 arched bridge
its on the sea but doesn't feel  like it
it's renowned for its trad music
it was once the hippy centre of West Cork and even today the odd rainbow jersey can be spotted
the bank is never open
it has an award winning and very camp hairdresser

I've just dug up, in between downpours,  the second bed of new potatoes and they look very good indeed - this will keep us fed for a while.


Edit: oh dear, I've done it again - thanks Listillo - I think I am dyslexic official - how many days in a year!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.