Family Dog

By Family_Dog

things in our home we can't get rid of Part I

Every house tells a story.

I wonder what stories our house would tell if we'd never had these? Not that I'm responsible for them in any way - I still shy away from playing any of my lovely vinyl because I can never quite figure out how to get it all to work. These are Bry's pride & joy and no matter how much space they take up, no matter how ugly the units have to be to house them, they will remain a permenant fixture in our home until he decides other wise.

Love me, love my decks you could say. They were part of the package. Just like I came with the spew-bag cat that is Boris.

The only time I ever tried to mix on these was when I lived with Bry and Stark. Bry made it his mission to teach me to mix and chose the bomb to mix with energy flash. These aren't the right versions so they won't sound like they're a good match but they really were. I tried about 850 times to get them to mix together. Bry - the long suffering and ever patient one and Stark (quite honestly the most mellow guy we knew) listened and encouraged and praised until eventually Stark snapped and screamed and I realised that my mixing days were over before they began.

Too much hard work when steaming off your head anyway.

So without these decks I wouldn't have pictures in my head (and in my photo albums) of my friends dancing in my livingroom, on the sofa, on the stairs, on the window seat. The police would have visited our homes much less often and neighbours peppered around the Leith area would have had much more sleep than they got. Freebird would NEVER have had the renaissance it got (in our circle anyway) and much less fun would have been had, I'm quite sure of it.

Things are a bit more quiet in our house these days. These still get a good kicking by Bry from time to time and I do love having them around. There's been times when I've looked longingly at the wall and wondered what other item I could have in their place - even toying with the idea of creating an open planned space between the kitchen & livingroom.

There's no way though - just no way. He's be out the door with cables & head phones winding behind him faster than you could say 'techno, techno, techno, techno'.

It's just not worth it!

p.s this whole blip is inspired by the best blip I've read in ages....[/chocolate & techno, the best combination I've ever seen in Blip Land!i]



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.