Today's the day

By sheilwill

Goldfinches

Today's the day ..................... to get caught in the act

I've been after these little beggars for months - and they knew it. I had my suspicions when the level of seed in the nyjer feeder mysteriously went down every day. Occasionally I would think I saw a flash of something but never enough to make a real identification.

They were very crafty. They knew that by the time I panted upstairs to get a better look out the bedroom window, they would have enough time to make a clean getaway. It was so frustrating - but I knew that in time they would get cocky and they'd get caught in the act.

And today it happened. I got a full frontal view and there they were. That identikit photo in the files was spot on - that black mask couldn't hide the yellow beak and the RED face. I'd have known it anywhere - a complete giveaway.

A punishment to fit the crime? These two will be doing bird for the foreseeable future ..................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.