A chef's day...

By chef

WOOOHOOOO the first girolles of the year!!!

Well... I'm back. I'm over my bad mood and will start blipping again. I will also backblip the last week as I hadn't stopped taking photos.

But today my mood totally lifted again as I went to have a look in the woods in my break. As everything else has been early this year I thought I have a look at my usual mushroom patches and YAY the girolles have started already. I think the rain over the last weekend has helped and the nice warm days the last couple of days. Normally they don't appear until the end of June or beginning of July.

Girolles are a favourite mushroom of mine. I love the colour of them. When you cook them slowly in butter they get an almost fruity flavour and therefore they are a perfect accompaniment with meats. I serve mine with Loin of lamb, sweet breads, lamb's liver, fondant potato, asparagus and a thyme jus. I already had them on the menu as I bought them (from Turkey I think) but when you find them yourself it is soooo satisfying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.