A chef's day...

By chef

Loin of lamb

This is the lamb loin I referred to yesterday. I bought a whole saddle of lamb and took the 2 loins off. The little piece in the middle is the fillet as in fillet steak on a cow. I scored the skin and when it's all tied up and rolled I will roast it so that the skin goed crispy. Lamb is very expensive at the moment. It is to do with the situation in New Zealand I heard from someone. Less gets imported so the local stuff goes up in price. This lamb is from my butcher's own farm. Because it is so expensive I serve it with liver and sweet bread so that I serve a little less lamb and therefore keep the cost down a little.

In the background is a packet of sweetbreads. I blanched them for 1 minute so I can remove the skin and then cut it so that I can pan fry it in the lamb loin's fat and butter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.