Slice of my Life

By spcooke

Utah's Mt. Timpanogos

This is one of "my" Utah mountains, Mt. Timpanogos. It overlooks Utah Valley, where I am staying with my daughters. This mountain, part of the Wasatch Range of the Rocky Mountains, stands at 11,749 ft. and is one I always looked for as a girl when my family came to visit my grandparents who lived in Provo, Utah.

This mountain is said to be an Indian maiden who died of grief after her lover was killed. As a girl I always thought that was so sad. It looks to me that her head is on the left side of the mountain, but I've had others tell me her head is on the right side! What do you think??

Inside Mt. Timpanogos is a wonderful cave. As a girl I climbed the paved switch-back trail to get there--it was a VERY long hike for me. When we finally got inside the cave, I found the temperature to be very cool; such a relief after the hot, long hike! When the ranger leading the hike turned off the lights, I couldn't believe how black it was--I really couldn't see my hand in front of my face! I remember that so profoundly and still think of that when someone mentions "dark".

Oregon's mountains are so different from Utah's mountains. Oregon mountains are created by volcanic action; Utah mountains are upthrust mountains created by earthquakes with large areas of granite and other rock showing. The canyons in Utah's mountains are narrow and tight, with the road and the river competing for space. Utah mountains are "in your face" while Oregon mountains are aloof and afar. I had a very hard time adjusting to Oregon mountains--but can now call both beautiful, in different ways. I've blipped Oregon's mountains on May 9,10, 11 and 12 if you care to compare!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.