Clix : Aperture Wide Shut

By clix

Father's Day

400 years ago today in this set of apartments King James VI of Scotland, later King James I of the United Kindom of Scotland (Union of the Crowns), England and Wales was born. His mother was implicated in the murder of his father shortly after his birth. Such was the political machinations of the Royals. In those pre-secular days there was no separation of the Church, Royalty and Politics.

Luckily this child survived as he went on to commission the King James Bible. Not merely a religous landmark but an earth shattering political move acrosss the Christian world.

Today, me and my two young daughters wandered around the Royal chambers in Edinburgh Castle and wondered at the history.

A very good Father's Day for me if not historically a good omen for the father of King James VI/I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.