Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

LIQUID MEMORY

As children my siblings & I would spent time visiting our grandparent in Kent on holiday which would always mean visits to the coast, Margate, Ramsgate, Deal and the like, happy days but then all summers are happy when your young and carefree. On one occasion, although I can't remember which town we were visiting our parents brought us all a mug with our names on, my brother & sisters all were given a small cup but there were none on the shelf of the china shop that had David scripted upon the side so we then had to search the shops for one to keep me from feeling left out, we never found the same design as the others had got and I ended up with a mug twice the size in blue with white lettering on the side proclaiming to whom the receptacal belonged. I must have had that mug for a good few years as I think I still made my tea in it up until I joined the forces, the others had long since been broken. Anyway to cut this story short and to tell you about today's Blip, we were in a department store the other week when I spotted a mug which was the exact same colour as the one I had as a child, I retailed the story to my wife and thought no more about it until yesterday when sitting next to my Fathers day card, don't ask me why she buys me one, sat a box with this mug in it, to say I was surprised was an understatement and now I'm wafting gallons of tea down my neck like a man on a mission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.