karenjulia

By karenjulia

What does it look like now?

This is a view many Christchurch people will know - standing in the Botanical Gardens looking through the (Edwardian) Peacock Fountain to the Arts Centre. (Annie's Wine Bar to the right). I was looking at it tonight and wondering what it looks like now?

This painting is by a Scottish guy Alan who worked with me for a while. He was a systems analyst but one day I discovered he had a degree in Fine Arts from Edinburgh University! Its a place Dave and I know well and we have stood where those people are many many times. I love (loved?) the Peacock Fountain. I love the stylised dolphins, the garish colours and the whole monstrosity of it all.

One thing non-Chch people may not realise is that a huge part of the city is still cordoned off and we have not be able to go and see the damage. Given the shakes of last week, this has been a good decision - the city is still not safe- but it is sad not seeing it and knowing what has happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.