Scharwenka

By scharwenka

The French have a Fine Idea!!!

... or maybe its the Scots who had the idea.

We have all known wine in cubitainers for many years. But this is the first time I have seen Scotch in a cubitainer.

Here we have 3 litres of "Finest Blended Scotch Whisky". I would not, myself, entirely agree with "Finest", having drunk Sir Edward's poured from a 70 centilitre glass bottle, but it is certainly acceptable. On the other hand, the concept of Appuyer Içi == Press Here == to have Scotch literally on tap is unbelievably tempting!

a news item on the radio this morning[/url] reporting that

"The Royal College of Psychiatrists says people over 65 should drink a maximum of only 1.5 units of alcohol a day. That is the equivalent of just over about half a pint of beer or a small glass of wine."

Mon Dieu!

I am over 65!

"But the extent of the drinking is hidden because unlike younger drinkers, more older people drink in their own homes, the report suggests."

Hidden: I must hide my cubitainer after testing it.

1.5 units? Are we sure that they aren't a factor of at least 10 out?

Read the BBC News web page: it's fascinating

"But there has been an angry reaction from many older people to the suggestion that they should cut down on their drinking."

That's more like it...

]

Now, as an experimental scientist, I must see if the 3 litres of Scotch does any damage.

I cannot focus on the screen any more, and keep typing the wrong letters, so must bid my readers farewell...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.