PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

The Blackpool of the Southwest

I found a leaflet in the local library extolling the virtues of Severn Beach. It featured a heritage trail. I had a spare 3 minutes, so decided to walk it.

The leaflet proudly proclaimed that Severn Beach was 'The Blackpool of the Southwest.' Now I have never been to Blackpool, and on this recomemndation I never will.

Admittedly this claim was made about Severn Beach in the 1920's when it had a lido, a boating pool, cinema and amusements. Today's blip is all that remains of it's former glory!

In other exciting news... the new dog tags I ordered for PTP and BFG arrived today. Dozy girl opened the parcel, read them, her OCD kicked in and she went apoplectic...

'OMG' she exclaimed

'they have missed out the possessive apostrophe of St David's Road!'

Shock horror eh?

I pointed out that I did not think either of the dogs would mind, and in the big scheme of things there are much bigger things to worry about than grammatical accuracy and spelling mistakes.

'Yere' she agreed

'I have tried to be really good with Dan's (boyfriend) texts recently, up until the sultarna (sic) incident which I could not ignore'

I give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.