A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Don't forget the moths

This is Night Scented Stock which is one of my favourite things. The flowers are not very exciting as garden plants go (though I like them) but they more than make up for it with the scent which starts to get heavier as the evening wears on. I go out most evenings and breathe it in. I love it even more than lavender.

I love to grow things which attract insects but I have to confess that I grow this entirely for myself. So it is more of a side effect that these flowers attract moths. They fill a niche since most other flowers smell during the day and attract butterflies and other day flying creatures. I am actually a bit surprised that more plants are not scented at night to take advantage of the abundance of moths at this time. In turn the moths attract bats and Little Owls. I am not sure about the owls but we definately get bats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.