Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Wednesday: Half Year Point

I tell you, if my parents had had a crystal ball, they would have called me 'Blippy Goatherd', not 'Booky Goatherd'. My reading efforts have been pretty poor since I started blipping. For as long as I can remember, I have kept a list of my annual reading (yes, I am slightly OCD) and in the first half of this year I have read 10 books. At the same point last year, I had read 18.....ho hum.

So, what has been on Booky's bedside in the first half of this year:

1. City Boy, Edmund White
2. The Story of Art, E H Gombrich
3. Electric Eden, Rob Young
4. Flashman, George McDonald Fraser
5. Cannery Row, John Steinbeck
6. The Most Amazing Haunted and Mysterious Places in Britain (what a pile of pants that was!)
7. Royal Flash, George McDonald Fraser
8. The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, Alan Sillitoe
9. The House of the Spirits, Isabel Allende (the best in this list!)
10. The Moving Toyshop, Edmund Crispin

As my school reports used to say 'could do better'! I am seriously planning to get my reading back on track for the second half of this year and will report progress on 31 December!

As for this picture, it is one of many bookshelves dotted around the house. Please note the ladder! We always wanted a bookshelf with a ladder and now we have one! I'll tell you a secret though........I am 5'8" and I can reach the top shelf without even standing on tiptoes so it is probably a little unnecessary!

Anyone got any ideas about what I can do with the 20 boxes of books in the loft?

Strictly speaking, I should have posted this tomorrow if I am being pedantic about the half year stage.......but tomorrow's blip is going to be.............something else! Are you excited?!!

P.S. Start a week of nightshifts tonight - I am looking forward to a really good catch-up on what you have all been up to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.