Click goes the Shutter

By RomaWhaup

Delphiniums (blue)

My first knowledge of delphiniums came from a poem in 'When We Were Very Young' by A A Milne - and so I have always known they were blue! You can see it here.

I've left it a bit late to blip these ones as they are just past their best, but they are a feature of our garden - commented on my many and admired by passers-by who pause at the gate. They range from pale blue to blue with a pink sheen to a deep irridescent blue. Some have white centres and others black. Altogether they are very satisfactory, especially as they grew from a packet of seeds that came free with a Gardener's World magazine about 8 years ago. I planted the seedlings in a flower bed John had just made and have done little else to them since. They always remind me of the wonders of nature

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.