Holes

You go away for 5 weeks to come back to a world that has changed - I'm listening to the story that on Sunday 'The News of the World' closes. I've never read it but the whole phone hacking saga has been tacky and sordid no-one comes out of it well, not Newscorp, the police or the politicians who have been courted by and court the Murdochs. Having read Malaysian newspapers over the last 5 weeks and followed the story there about the government trying to stop Saturday's proposed demonstration in support of free and open elections and democracy (street demonstrations are 'un-Malaysian' and those unhappy about current arrangements should take their concerns to the Electoral Commission) I know that by and large the media here in the UK is open and impartial but News Corporation is too big, too powerful and too influential. Maybe this will help change that, maybe not.

Other things have changed, other things have stayed the same. The roses are out, the ash tree in the back green is in full leaf and my kitchen is dark and gloomy, a great green monster looming outside, my neighbours are moving, Edinburgh will still have trams and these granite bollards have appeared on George IV Bridge outside the Central Library. Not sure what their purpose is. To tie up horses in case the tram project bankrupts the Council and the buses stop, to thread rope through to hold back demonstrators, a new children's game. Who knows?

I'm beating the jet lag and I'm off to see my friend E for tea and to try and cheer her up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.