Chiara

By Chiara

JS by Jessica Simpson

Wherever Einstein goes, destruction and chaos follow. He sharpens his claws on doors, chairs, frames, and walls. He constantly pushes sweet helpless little Kikeli off the couch or the bed and takes her place whenever he feels like it. He shreds up brand new rolls of toilet paper. He gobbles up days worth of food in five hours and begs for more. He bats his water bowl around so much that there is always a puddle of water on the kitchen floor. He poops outside of the litter box whenever it hasn't been cleaned for more than 24 hours, and he has just taken to pissing on the couch.

The thought of giving him away has often crossed my mind, usually in a state of anger after finding the baby gate (to keep the cats out of my bedroom) all mangled up or a piss stain on the carpet. I have screamed and cussed at him so many times that he probably thinks his name is "Fucking stupid cat".

Every single time I'm on the verge of strangling him, he looks at me with puppy eyes and out comes a little apologetic meow. He then hesitantly rubs his head on my leg and looks at me again. These big, vulnerable eyes never cease to soften me up. I then think about him living in an unfamiliar place with complete strangers, confused and scared, wondering where I've gone.

When I find the aftermath of his destruction, I am at my wits end, but ultimately I realize that I could never get rid of that cat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.