Clean Slate

By cleanslate

Wet

Theme for the day.

Wet: Ready for school this morning, opened up pushchair outside the front door, went to fetch cardigan - returned to find downpour and wet pushchair. So no.2 son came to school on a towel. And we were late because we all had to change our coats.

Wet: No.1 son's pants when, despite an ants in your pants jig, he refused to go to the toilet.

Wet: No.2 son's trousers when he tipped his own cup of water (with uselessful collapsable spout) all over himself - TWICE. The second time a woman in a shop actually tapped me on the shoulder to tell me it was happening. The rascal in question just looked at me with a glint in his eye, 'I did it again Mummy!'. Yes, I know - but YOU'RE the one that's wet now. And still more glinting.

Wet: Me. In a pathetic sense! Trying to get out of the children's swimming lesson. I have to go into the pool with no.2 son and because it's so shallow I sort of have to squat whilst bouncing and lifting him (all 19.38kg of him) and the following morning, my legs always hurt. This is usually fine (aside from the whinging, to which the family are subjected) but tomorrow is the Heaton Park 10k Race for Life. Anyway, monumentally, no.1 son was having none of it. He begged me to take them swimming because he loves it so much. Talk about a turn around - so I felt I couldn't refuse that. It's like if a child pleads for brocolli (I imagine!??)

Wet: No.2 son did his usual swimming pool, murderous scream but settled down so quickly and was so happy in the water. It's only week three and I am so pleased with how far he's come. It's so lovely to see him enjoying the water. Of course, I'd prefer the whole thing if I didn't actually have to get wet, or parade around in my swimming costume in front of all the Mums from no.1 son's class who I've spent the last 10 months befriending.

Wet: The walk (run) from swimming back to the car. No, I can't remember why I chose not to take coats :-/

Wet: All the slides and swings at the park. And the grass. And the children's trousers when we got come. (I hope no-one's counting how many trousers we went through today!)

Wet: Uh oh! It's a bath blip

Wet: My whistle. I'm sure one small glass of Friday wine won't affect the run tomorrow :-)

Edit: Sorry I had a change of heart about the picture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.