Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Manchester Festival

After a few dalliances between a couple of bus stops....only metres apart, fortunately....Lewis appeared to be getting onto the correct bus as I drove off to work. Another Mum was at the bus stop with all the kids and was checking with the driver where the bus actually went. Another Mum followed the bus in her car and checked that they all got off at the school at the other end. (This journey to school is approximately 2.8 miles...just enough so that it isn't free!) We are a pathetic bunch of Mums!!!

Lewis didn't text me all day, even though I sent him three texts and tried to phone at lunch time. A work collegue said that boys will only be in contact if they need something, they will never text to let you know they are ok. Oh, that's fine then! He was ok, he caught the correct bus home...phoned me from the bus to say it was raining so how would he get in the house? I said he would have to sit inside the shed until Grandad came back from picking the other two up from school....only a matter of a few minutes. I was on the train to Manchester by this time so not such a pathetic Mum after all!!

Manchester was great this evening. Lots of happy, chatty people on the train (hi to the guy with the rescue dogs and to the guy from St Helens!). It did rain, oh well. Had a chinese meal with Graham and then mooched around the festival site which is where this big pyramid thing is....it's a bar with a screen and local information inside. I will blip the inside next Friday as it's pretty impressive.

Then we went to watch the new Victoria Wood play, 'That Day We Sang' which is "a Manchester love story with singing". It was on at the Opera House which has the quote "THE PLAY MIRRORS LIFE" over the entrance. I am a huge Victoria Wood fan. I quote all of her sketches constantly which is really irritating for others. I know this because people do it to me, only Monty Python sketches (don't they Steve???!!) and that irritates me. I also get the Tony Hancock thing EVERY DAY at work "Do you want an armful?!" If I had a pound..... 'That Day We Sang' was very enjoyable. I love the humour and all I can say is Viva Victoria.

On the train home, we bumped into my not-too-often guitar playing buddy, George. George, I will email you and we will start this guitaring thing again!!! Can I tell Gaynor that you were completely p-p-p-paralytic last night? Ok I won't!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.