Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Village Stocks, Rivington

Continuing on from my Blip of yesterday, I have found the perfect place for the ginger kid!! These date back to 1719 and, quite frankly, I think standards have dipped since then. Not good. Bring back the stocks, that's what I say. I can already think of at least four people I'd like to put in them and to pelt with rotten eggs.

Stocks and Pillories were used for humiliation. The stocks were a form of punishment. They were used for crimes that were not considered severe crimes.

By 1351 every town was required to have and maintain a set of stocks. In 1495 law required vaggabonds to be in the stocks for three days, living on bread and water.

Crimes that required the stocks as punishment were crimes such as: Drunkeness (6 hrs at the stocks) and swearing (1hr).

All these crimes could avoid the stocks, if the accused could pay the fine for the crime they committed.


Mmm, the stocks would have a queue to the moon these days....drunkeness and swearing!

On a completely different note, I am really looking forward to watching "Strictly Kosher" tonight at 9pm on ITV1. Anyone who knows me knows that I have a strong fascination for the Jewish community and faith. This is right up my street! Hope it's good. Getting my Blip in early so that I can relax and watch this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.