Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

It's a jungle out there

Auto pilot propelled me work-wards this morning.

However it wasn't quite so proficient in the 'let-the-dog-out' department*.

A blue-tailed damselfly landed beside me (camera aloft) in the bushes :-)
This was a delight; I haven't seen one in the garden before.
This image isn't it... I managed to capture a quite sharp head, and a really sharp tail.
But on two seperate images. Perhaps I should look at photoshop?!

This less pretty image (are you sitting comfortably?...)
I think (?) might link with the parasitic wasp of a few days ago.
The aphids which, it turns out, are most interesting (hands up those who have recently looked up 'parthenogenesis') seem to have been victims of the said wasp.
Having laid their eggs in the live aphids, it seems the emerging larvae, when ready to pupate, eat their way out, leaving neat little holes. Then they pop out to go and repeat the cycle on some other poor aphids. (...And they all lived happily ever after?)

I might need a lie down. (Auto Pilot is not conducive to good story-telling.)

*Heartfelt thanks to Himself for clearing up the puddle in my absence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.