michigan man

By outdoorguy

Yellow Water Lily

This yellow flower comes from the family Nymphaeaceae. I'm not sure whether it is Nuphar Lutea, Nuphar Advena, or Nuphar Variegata.

How did we ever survive without Wikipedia? I can google yellow water lily, and in 30 seconds or less...have WAY too much information. I can put that first paragraph in there, and come off looking like a genius, or at least a well-informed plant guy. Benny the Botanist...specializing in water plants.

Pushing it too far...they can also be called Spatterdock(sounds like a seagulls target zone), or Cow lillies. I just know they moooooved me.

Went upriver today in my kayak...looking for a secret hidden lake. I found it through a very narrow channel. I know fishing boats come this way, but I got hung up in my kayak...so I don't know how they get through.

A different and wonderful morning. Once I got on the river...it was probably 2 solid hours without seeing or hearing a single person. No boats, and I couldn't hear any cars or trains. The silence was only interrupted by mockingbirds, bull frogs, 3 blue herons, and the breeze blowing the riverside tall grasses. So serene and peaceful. If there was such a thing as a Lazy-boy kayak...I think I could have drifted off in more ways than one.

The herons didn't even give me a sniff of a picture, but they did serenade me with that awesome "voice." I also saw 2 kingfishers, which I hardly ever see.

The millpond is getting quite weedy. The weed guy was stiil there doing his cutting and harvesting. My boat picked up quite a few green things. This afternoon...I'm going to give Salma Hayek(oops)...I mean Salma Kayak a bath. She deserves it after such a great morning on the river.

The fly was a bonus. The stems reminded me of asparagus, which I'm fixing for supper. One more fact that I learned...the stems are edible, although they can be incredibly bitter. Good to know if you ever get stranded on the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.