Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Too cool for school

Today I took Lewis shopping for "prom" clothes. Yes, they now have proms at primary school...groan. I am cynical about things like this because:

1) Nothing against the good old US of A but we don't want to be a carbon copy, thanks.

2) People are told as and when to enjoy themselves....I just find this all too regimented.

3) I was always a sad sap at school and things like this made me realise just how sad of a sap I was.

4) What will be left for them to do if they've done everything by the age of 10?

5) Well, I'm just going into an endless, pointless rant now, aren't I?

So, we went to N*xt where there was a sale. As I rarely venture into said shop, I felt like an alien on the moon. I believe people queue up from 5am for this sale? All the clothes were special "sale" clothes today so all the boys shirts & trousers had been put into storage. The sales assistant was fab though and appeared with some very nice, 60s looking grey trousers with a black trim. Very cool and very hip. Lewis said they were horrible. So we traisped around another few shops....none had anything fit for the "smart casual" needed at a prom. We ended back at N*xt. We bought the trousers and a shirt & tie. Got them home...(couldn't use the fitting rooms in N*xt due to the sale?!)....trousers too big, shirt just looked like an expensive school shirt. Went back to N*xt, swapped the trousers for a smaller pair, bought a shirt from another shop and Lewis also managed to wangle a pair of jeans, a jacket and a pair of shorts out of me too. How did this happen? He couldn't care less about the prom clothes but wanted me to blip him in his new jeans and jacket. I told him to put the hood up but he said it would mess up his hair. Then, when he saw the photo, he said his hair looks all fuzzy! He's 10. I can't cope.

Note to shops: your clothes sections for boys are pathetic. Girls clothes sections take up a good three quarters of the children's clothing area. Boys are keen on being fashionable too. You are all missing a trick here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.