Step into the unknown

When looking for stuff to do in London, Rory discovered the Doctor Who Experience. I was a little skeptical about how good it would be, but having attended it today, I can't applaud it enough. It was brilliant! I won't give away what happens, except that you do feel that it's real and it's funny, scary (if you believe the monsters are out to get you) and clever. The doctor appears, and there are Daleks, a full-blown space shoot-out and the TARDIS is much larger than it looks from the outside. The event photographs at the end are fabulous, too, as are all the museum pieces. I even got to meet K-9 and Tom Baker's scarf (my era of Doctor Who).

Afterwards we had a lovely lunch and walk through Hyde Park. Mum and Rory paddled in the Diana Memorial Fountain and complained that I'd walked their feet off them already.

The tube took us to Covent Garden and it was just a short hop to the National Portrait Gallery to see some famous people, and the BP Portrait of the Year, which has many fantastic pieces. Mum and I didn't agree with the portrait that won and scribbled down our favourites for the People's Choice Award.

Then back home to watch 'The Apprentice'. Mum picked up a free newspaper early in the day and mistakenly discovered who the winner was. She was very good at keeping it a secret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.