Weasel!

Twenty minutes standing on platform 6 at Milton Keynes station this morning was far more interesting than usual. On the far side of the track I watched a weasel pursuing, half-catching (much squeaking), losing, and finally catching a mouse; the latter seemed to have gone to ground under the wooden walkway edging, and the weasel had almost to dig it out. I got a shot of her dragging the corpse away - I would think it weighed almost as much as the weasel, which was only about 20 cm long - but poor focus.

This was the best "portrait" I could manage, between several Virgin Pendolino trains screaming past at full speed. I checked the mammals book and reckon that this was a female, due to her small size. Lots of hungry little mouths full of sharp teeth to feed somewhere in the undergrowth no doubt.

The rest of the journey back to Edinburgh was less eventful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.